Hello, I’m Reggie and I’m the voice of local food. That's because I’m your voice. When you Reggie-ster (sorry) on this site, you will be able to get involved in helping promote and share what's great and sometimes, what's not so great about the food that's produced and sold around you. And, by shopping locally, with local suppliers you will also help the local economy.
Avatarwilsonschoice (06.01.14)
Ironically I have joined free range review today as I was becoming less and less happy with this vendor and wished to search for a different farm shop local(ish) to us in Cirencester. I cannot put my finger exactly on what has caused to me to have second thoughts, but just a general feeling that prices have increased and service has decreased proportionately. In thirty words or less I would say that despite the many awards Butts Farm Rare Breeds Shop have received it feels rather average from a customer's point of view.

Rated as: Average
AvatarLil (17.12.13)
Maya has a huge and interesting range of preserves with really unusual ingredients. There is a delicious marmalade called Lemon and Gin (no alcohol) and the range has a great Indian selection such as Lucknow Lime Chutney. as a cook Maya has a detailed knowledge of recipes in history; so try out one of these old recipes. I like Sweet Mustard Pickle. Her preserves can be bought in lots of places in and around Bridport.

Rated as: Excellent
AvatarLil (17.12.13)
Why buy your flavours in small expensive packets when Mike and Sue will weigh any amount of spices, dried fruits and nuts into take away bags? They also have Tamerisk Farm veg and salads as well as all the usual deli stuff. What I really like about Fruits of the Earth is they really support the Bridport community; there is a very large notice board that tells you what is currently going on.

Rated as: Excellent
Avatarfalafel (22.03.13)
These are without a doubt the best burgers in town. The service is great, the atmosphere of the pub is lovely, and the food quality is amazing. It's not your average pub burger. There is an inventive and exciting menu, of which I have now tried around 4 different options, and am yet to be disappointed. The vegetarian burgers are also excellent.

Very happy that this kitchen has opened up in Bristol :-)

Rated as: Excellent
Avatarcoe114c (02.03.13)
Johnson's was closed in 2010 due to lack of custom. However I am now launching a new website offering support to coeliacs and anyone on a gluten free diet. http://www.glutenfreefoodies.org.uk/

Rated as: Excellent
Avatarstarling (07.01.13)
I have visited this bakery about 3 times and I love it. The food is really delicious and also healthy. Gorgeous home made breads and soups, cakes etc. Also it has a lovely gift shop. It has a nice quiet and relaxing atmosphere, so I can eat in peace - a rare occurence usually when out and about! I will likely eat there every time Im in Portree. Well worth a visit.

Rated as: Excellent
Avatarecomonkey (31.12.12)
There are few High Streets in remote rural towns in Scotland that can boast a top end artisan bakery cum patisserie. OK Dunbar is not that remote - a stone's throw from Edinburgh and easy to get to by train.

So if you are on the foodie trail or enjoying bracing walks along the miles and miles of protected coast, it really is worth swinging by.

I recommend you check first that what you are looking for is on the baking list, if travelling from afar. Business is often brisk and the best stuff flies off the shelf, so come by early to avoid disappointment.

Best bakery in Britain finalists, but strangely they narrowly missed the top prize. Surely some mishtake?

Rated as: Excellent
Avatarmaggie1974 (27.12.12)
Not wholly sure what has happened to this once lovely place. Not shopped there for over 18 months (change of personal circumstances) but travel took me past their door so I couldn't resist. The atmosphere has really changed and it now seems an unhappy place. Grumpy staff and, my goodness, how much the prices have risen. It was so good and I genuinely think it has now become mediocre.

Rated as: Awful
I used Butts Farm Shop as a supplier ofr a while but have since found somewhere else that in my opinion is preferable. I had noticed a distinct reduction in the quality of service and coupled with the steadily increasing prices (also commented on by others) I felt that my custom had become very much taken for granted. Whilst I have praise for their merchandise, for me, customer service and pricing is important particularly as to find independant small scale or artisan suppliers one has to invariably travel to some degree, which incurs both a time and cost factor. When one has made the effort it is disappointing to be greeted almost as if one is an inconvenience. My suggestion is look for yourselves as your experiences may be better than my own. For pricing and often disdainful service I am, (with great sadness) only able to mark Butts Farm shop as "poor".

Rated as: Poor
AvatarStarry (04.12.12)
High quality grass fed meats from the local farmers in the village of Northmoor plus locally shot game all end up in Colin's wonderful pies with a proper home made pastry crust, served up with a wide selection of freshly cooked local vegetables. Colin will also cook you some hare, devilled kidneys and sausage and mash featuring pigs that live the good life in a field behind my cottage. The beer is good and the old pub, warmed by a proper open fire, has escaped the modernisation that has ripped the character out of so many of our locals. An authentic local pub run by a lovely family who are really at the heart of our community.

Rated as: Excellent
Page 1 of 211
< Previous Page / Next Page >

Free Range Review is a community site that is designed to be shared with others. By bookmarking this site with other social networking sites such as these, you can store or share links across the internet. You can share our site with friends and people with similar interests. You can also access your links from any computer and spread the word of local food.